Departments & Divisions > Mechanical Engineering > Our Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Name Research Interests Phone Room Email
Professor and Associate Dean
Bergstrom, Donald J. Computational Fluid Dynamics  •  Turbulence Modelling  •  Wind tunnel modelling of external flows (306) 966-5454 3B48.6 don.bergstrom@usask.ca
Professor and Department Head
Bugg, James D. Particle Image Velocimetry  •  Experimental Fluid Dynamics  •  Bubble Dynamics  •  Taylor Bubbles (306) 966-5469 3B48.4 jim.bugg@usask.ca
Professor
Chen, Daniel Tissue Engineering  •  Scaffold Bio-fabrication  •  Mechatronics  •  and Nano-Positioning (306) 966-1267 3B47 xbc719@mail.usask.ca
Crowe, Trever G. Livestock transport  •  Animal welfare  •  Livestock production 966-5759 E240 Admin. Bldg. Trever.Crowe@usask.ca
Fotouhi, Reza Robotics (dynamics & control)  •  Structural Dynamics and Vibrations  •  Computational Mechanics (Finite Element & Optimization)  •  Biomechanics (306) 966-5453 2B35 reza.fotouhi@usask.ca
Guo, Huiqing Agricultural building systems and environment Control 966-5350 1A10 huiqing.guo@usask.ca
Schoenau, Greg J. Energy conservation in building systems  •  Fluid power control systems  •  Building daylighting systems (306) 966-5446 3B44 greg.schoenau@usask.ca
Simonson, Carey J. Moisture transfer in buildings  •  Air-to-air energy recovery  •  Heat and mass transfer in porous media  •  frost (306) 966-5479 2B32 carey.simonson@usask.ca
Sumner, David Experimental fluid mechanics  •  bluff-body aerodynamics  •  fluid-structure interactions (306) 966-5537 ENG 2B31 david.sumner@usask.ca
Szpunar, Jerzy A. Professor of Materials Science (306)-966-5374 3B02 jerzy.szpunar@usask.ca
Szyszkowski, Walerian Flexible Structures  •  Optimization  •  Computational Mechanics  •  Time-Dependent Materials  •  Holographic Interferometry (306) 966-5472 2B30 walerian.szyszkowski@usask.ca
Torvi, David A. Numerical and experimental heat transfer;Fire science ;Heat transfer in human skin ;Protective clothing (306) 966-5493 3B50 david.torvi@usask.ca
Wu, Fang X. Real-time control of mass spectrometer  •  System identification and parameter estimation  •  Control theory with applications to biologcal systems  •  Biomedical informatics  •  and Biological signal processing (306) 966-5280 3B42 fangxiang.wu@usask.ca
Yang, Qiaoqin nanostructured thin films/coatings  •  friction wear and corrosion  •  tools and biomedical implants  •  plasma and ion beam deposition and etching (306) 966-5470 3B46 qiaoqin.yang@usask.ca
Zhang, W.J. (Chris) Mechanical Design  •  Manufacturing  •  Dynamic System and Control  •  MEMS  •  Informatics  •  Robotics (306) 966-5478 2B34 chris.zhang@usask.ca
Associate Professor
Dolovich, Allan T. Solid mechanics ;Nonlinear stress analysis ;Experimental methods (306) 966-5471 1A15.3 allan.dolovich@usask.ca
Oguocha, Ikechukwuka N. Characterization of Decomposition Reactions in Metallic Alloys and Metal Matrix Composites  •  Interface Phenomena in Metal Matrix Composites  •  Wear of Engineering Materials (306) 966-7832 2B36 ike.oguocha@usask.ca
Assistant Professor
Brad, Robert 966-2340 1A14A Robert.Brad@usask.ca
Johnston, James (J.D.) Biomechanics  •  Medical Imaging  •  Computational Mechanics (Finite Element & Modelling) (306) 966-1468 1A15.2 jd.johnston@usask.ca
Noble, Scott D. reflectance spectroscopy  •  spectral imaging  •  machine vision  •  optical systems  •  pneumatic conveying  •  instrumentation and apparatus development for research 966-5308 1A14B scott.noble@usask.ca
Odeshi, Akindele G. Physical metallurgy  •  microstructure design  •  engineered materials  •  composite materials  •  high strain-rate testing and evaluation  •  failure and fracture (306) 966 - 5118 2B33 akindele.odeshi@usask.ca
Vanderby, Sonia Operations Research applied to health services  •  simulation  •  modeling  •  system dynamics  •  diagnostic imaging  •  osteoarthritis 306-966-5804 2B37 sonia.vanderby@usask.ca
Welford, Ross A. Production Agriculture 966-5323 1A14C ross.welford@usask.ca
Adjunct Professor
Dobchuk, Jeff fluid power control 306-221-8181 Convergent Motion Control, Saskatoon jeffdobchuk@convergentmc.com
Habibi, Saeid Mechatronics  •  Multivariable and Intelligent Control  •  Robotics  •  Fluid Power  •  Water Supply Management (905) 525-9140 x 27765 McMaster,Hamilton habibi@mcmaster.ca
Hedayat, Assem Biomaterials and nanofabrication 306-381-5789 Bregma Materials Solution Ltd. assem.hedayat@usask.ca
Lang, S. Y. T. NRC,London  
Ouyang, Puren Mechatronics  •  robotics  •  design and control  •  hybrid systems (416) 979-5000 ext. 4928 Aerospace Engineering, Ryerson Univ pouyang@ryerson.ca
Shi, Yang Network Based Control Systems  •  Intelligent Control for Nonlinear Systems  •  Multirate Control  •  Identification  •  Information Processing  •  Teleoperation of Robotics  •  Flight Control of Autonomous Vehicles (250)853-3178 UVic, Victoria, BC yshi@uvic.ca
Sulatisky, M. Fluid Power Systems  •   Artificial Intelligence and Neural Networks (306)933-5468 SRC,Saskatoon sulatisky@src.sk.ca
Yannacopoulos, Spiro Materials Science & engineering  •  Aluminum Alloys for Automotive Applications  •  Effects of welding parameters and heat treatment on properties of steels (250)807-8714 UBC,Okanagan spiro.y@usask.ca
Professor Emeritus
Besant, Robert W. Hvac Moisture transfer in buildings  •  Air-to air energy recovery (306) 966-5443 bob.besant@usask.ca
Burton, Richard T. Fluid Power Systems  •  Artificial Intelligence and Neural Networks (306) 966-5373 2B45 richard.burton@usask.ca
Gupta, Madan M. neuro-vision  •  neuro-control  •  fuzzy logic  •  neural networks  •  fuzzy neural networks (306)-966-5451 Madan.Gupta@usask.ca
Hertz, P B. Vehicular transportation efficiency ;Vehicle aerodynamics ;Wind tunnel testing ... (306) 966-5430 220 ANSCI barry.hertz@usask.ca
Male, David  
Nikiforuk, Peter N. Robotics (dynamics & control) (306) 966-5463 peter.nikiforuk@usask.ca
Sargent, Colin colin.sargent@usask.ca
Ukraintez, Paul (306) 966-5430 220 ANSCI paul.ukrainetz@usask.ca
Watson, Glen L. Finite Element Analysis  •  Biomechanics  •  Expert Systems and Neural Nets  

Staff

Name Title and Duty Phone Room Email
Administrative Staff
Neale, Kelley Graduate Secretary 966-5444 2B39 kelley.neale@usask.ca
Simonson, Janai Undergraduate and Outreach Secretary 966-5442 3B48 janai.simonson@usask.ca
Technical Staff
Bitner, Doug V. Fluid Power Systems  •  Control Systems  •  Mechatronics 966-5462 1B15-19 doug.bitner@usask.ca
Deutscher, Dave Thermal Science  •  Fluid Mechanics 966-5460 1B30.1 dave.deutscher@usask.ca
Miller, Mike 966-5330 1A72 michael.miller@usask.ca
Peace, Rob Metallurgy  •  Materials Science 966-5461 2C26 rob.peace@usask.ca
Retzlaff, Rick Heat Transfer 966-5457 1B39.1 rick.retzlaff@usask.ca
Steinmetz, Hans-Jürgen Manufacturing  •  Materials Testing 966-5459 1B81 h-j.steinmetz@usask.ca