Departments & Divisions > Chemical & Biological Engineering > Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards

Professor Ding-Yu Peng of the Department of Chemical Engineering has been named the 2006 recipient of the Donald L. Katz Award by the Gas Processors Association. The award is recognition of "outstanding accomplishments in gas processing research, and for excellence in engineering education." The award will be presented to Dr. Peng at the 85th Annual Gas Processors Association Convention, Grapevine, Texas in March 2006. For more information on the award and past recipients visit the Gas Processors Association website:

Further information is also available from:
D.-Y. Peng, Professor
Chemical Engineering
306 966 4767

Ding-Yu Peng received an earned doctor of science degree on October 22, 2005, at the fall convocation.

Dr. Peng is the co-developer of the Peng-Robinson equation of state, which is used worldwide by the petroleum industry and is featured in most chemical engineering thermodynamics textbooks. He became a faculty member in Chemical Engineering at the U of S in 1984 and achieved full professorship in 1988.

His research focuses on the development of environmentally friendly processes and improved products for the oil and gas industry. "Dr. Peng''s expertise is noted around the globe and he has a solid reputation because of his outstanding research and work ethic." said the University President, Dr. Peter MacKinnon. "Professor Peng is very devoted to his research but also to his teaching career and his students - making him an excellent choice for an earned degree."

D.Y. Peng

Dr. Richard Evitts - Saskatoon Engineering Society Educator of the Year 2004. In recognition of the role of the University of Saskatchewan College of Engineering and its many fine faculty members, the SES created The Educator award in order to make it easier to recognize the many outstanding engineering educators is Saskatoon.

Ajay Dalai was recently appointed to the Honorable Order of Kentucky
by Ernie Fletcher, Governor of Kentucky.

This is the highest honour awarded by the State of Kentucky and Kentucky Colonels are good will ambassadors to the world.

The award recognizes community contributions and special achievements and recognizes the Colonel''s service and accomplishments on behalf of others.

Other Kentucky Colonels are President Lyndon B. Johnson, Winston Churchill, John Glenn, Carol Channing, Ann-Margaret, Tiger Woods, Dwight Yoakam, Muhammad Ali, Jeff Foxworthy, and Whoopi Goldberg.

The Honorable Order of Kentucky Colonels was founded in 1932 by Governor Ruby Laffoon and is now officially incorporated as a charitable organization with thousands of dollars being donated to worthy causes by the Colonels.

Once a year Kentucky Colonels gather for a celebration of fellowship.